Aizawl went past big guns like Mohun Bagan and East Bengal to obtain the AFC license along with Bengaluru FC, one of the most consistent teams in the country issued by the AIFF.



Aizawl FC, shocked everyone and clinched the I-league tournament last season. They defeated the mighty Mohun Bagan in their second last game of the season, to create history in Indian football, as they became the first team from the Northeastern region of the country to win the I-League. 8 clubs, namely, Aizawl FC, Mohun Bagan, East Bengal, Bengaluru FC, Shillong Lajong FC, Churchill Brothers, Chennai City FC and Minerva Punjab FC, applied for the AFC and National Licenses for the season 2017-18. After going through the reports, the members of the committee unanimously decided to award the AFC License to Aizawl FC and Bengaluru FC only. 



Aizawl FC will now get to play the prestigious AFC Champions League qualifiers, whereas Bengaluru FC will play AFC Asia Cup qualifiers. The big guns of Indian football, Mohun Bagan and East Bengal had also applied for the license but after winning the I-League, Aizawl became the strongest contenders. The committee has further decided to conduct another meeting in the near future to decide the results of the applications made by the same clubs for national club competitions.



The fairy-tale might just continue for the Champions of I-League with a chance to compete for the AFC Champions League, do you think Aizawl FC can take this opportunity with both hands and strike it big once for all?


Facebook Comments